Kik is a relatively new and well-known cross-platform messaging app for its focus on anonymity. It goes without saying that Kik gives values to privacy more than anything else. Their system behing blocking users is straight-forward and strict. If you are blocking someone, you may rest assured knowing that they will respect your virtual personal space.
On the flip side, if you are being blocked, your recourse may be found very limited. In addition, you may not even know that you are getting blocked. Here is the guide to find out if you are being blocked by someone on Kik Messenger.
First of all, let’s learn about Blocking on Kik Messenger
As we all know, blocking is something we do to the users who upset us in online space. But what actually happens when someone is blocked on Kik messenger or when you block someone?
The answer is quite simple – if you have blocked someone, you will no longer get any messages from the person you blocked. It doesn’t mean they cannot send any message. Those messages won’t be received by you.
If you are going to block someone, it’s important to keep in mind that it won’t affect any communications before blocking. They can see all of your communication history you share. So, this action will not remove any unwanted information.
How to Block/Unblock Someone?
First of all, here’s how you block/unblock someone on Kik messenger. According to your device, these steps may be different.
- Open chat with a user you would want to block.
- Click on their name at the top
- Click on “More”
- Click on Block “Name”
- Tap on Block once more to confirm it.
- Simply go to Settings > Privacy
- Tap on Block List (You may see the list of blocked users here)
- Tap on “+” sign
- Tap on user’s name you want to block.
- Tap on Block.
You can easily unblock someone just like blocking them. Just go through the same steps. You will see that Block button is turned to Unblock. Simply tap on it.
How would you know if you are blocked?
Kik won’t keep you informed if you have been blocked. It won’t send any specific message, alert or banner. If you want to know if you have been clocked, the only way here is to pay close attention to the messages sent by you.
When sending message using Kik messenger, you will see that it has a small icon “D” on the left of the message which means “Delivered”. When the user you want to reach actually gets the message, the “D” icon will be turned to “R” which means “received”.
If you are blocked, you can send the message but it will not be received. If your message to the person is not turning from “D” to “R”, you are blocked by the user. Or it must be a technical issue. Well, there are no common technical faults detected in Kik related to messages that are being sent to the person but not received.
You also cannot get around on the web for a way to know if you are blocked on Kik. There were some websites which told blocked users to invite blockers and message them using group chat. But this trick hadn’t worked for longer. It has been fixed by the update. Blocked users are no longer able to invite blockers.
In addition, if you are unable to add someone, it is another sign that they have blocked you. The only way out here is to request someone who blocked you to unblock.